A REVIEW of DOPPLEGANGER from The Fall Of Troy written by Schlagzeuger

Three guys from Mukilteo, Washington (it’s nice there, kind of) created one of the best albums of the 2000’s.  When I was sixteen my band Armar Road played a show with these guys when they went by the name of 30 Years War at a local coffee shop that was the hub of music in Marysville, Washington back in 2003 – throwing out some credentials so you know what’s up.  Oh what, you wanna listen to the music?

44:41 Doppleganger by Fall Of Troy.

1. I Just Got This Symphony Goin’
2. Act One, Scene One
3. F.C.P.R.E.M.I.X.
4. “You Got A Death Wish, Johnny Truant?”
5. Mouths Like Sidewinder Missiles
6. The Holy Tape…
7. Laces Out, Dan!
8. We Better Learn To Hotwire A Uterus
9. Whacko Jacko Steals The Elephant Man’s Bones
10. Tom Waits
11. Macaulay McCulkin

The guitar work on this album from front to back is incredible.  Starting an album off with a solo riff of shredding in I Just Got This Symphony Goin’???  That is how a Rock album should start.  Thomas Erak pierces your ears with screaming followed by some beautiful vocal melodies in-between his screamo.  Act One, Scene One gives you a more chuggy punk riff, an excellent second song to get you pumped up for the rest of the album which is a roller coaster of a ride. F.C.P.R.E.M.I.X.  was Fall Of Troy’s “Stairway” as it was catchy, popular, and with that delay intro into a guitar riff that gets stuck in your head, you can’t help but sing along with Erak (even if you don’t know what he is saying).  “I don’t wanna see the day…..it’s too bad, no regrets….this is, my one chance, to take back, no regrets”.  I’m not gonna look up the lyrics because I like to make up my own, but please feel free to comment what they are.

the-fall-of-troy

You Got A Death Wish, Johnny Truant? has great vocal melodies with catchy screaming that could pop a balloon if you can hit those notes.  Some of the lines stick out at me forever such as “staring at your glass smile” “forever contradicting”, and “can you still see what you first saw in me? WHAAAA WHOOOO”  I love it.  Again the guitar work in this album is amazing, and you gotta give props to the rhythm foundation of Andrew Forsman on drums and Tim Ward on bass.  The drums were recorded and mixed to perfection, great sounding snare and when he hits the ride cymbal it feels like you are sitting on stage left listening to him let it ring out.  “Did you fuck up anyway?  I don’t understand what you say”.  The dynamics of the album are what pull it all together and especially in the lengthy ending of Macaulay McCulkin where they get Mathematically jazzy, punk, rock, and psychedelic all in one finale that will make you put this album on repeat and drive 103 mph down the freeway in the rain covered roads of I-5.  This album will always have a place in my heart when I need some amazing guitar work (did I mention the insane guitar work!?!?) and screams to pound my ear drums.

Leave a comment